Recognition Awards Program

Purpose and objectives

The IAHPC will give annual recognition awards to individuals and institutions which have contributed to the advancement and provision of palliative care. The goal of this program is to increase access and optimize the practice of palliative care in the world.

The objectives of this Program are to:

  1. recognize individuals and institutions dedicated to alleviating serious health related suffering of patients and their families in order to improve their quality of life.
  2. bring these individuals and institutions to the attention of policy makers, other institutions, and relevant organizations.

IAHPC will convene an advisory committee to review the applications and select the winners for each category.

Each award will consist of a US $1,000 prize, a certificate, and a free one-year IAHPC membership.


Six awards will be given annually to individuals and institutions located in high, in middle, and in low income countries. Candidates for the individual award must be nominated by an IAHPC member. Institutions for the institutional award must be nominated by a representative.

See past winners


This award recognizes individuals who have dedicated themselves to the development and provision of palliative care thus increasing the quality of life of patients with serious health related suffering both in their countries and abroad.

Learn more and nominate


This award recognizes institutions that have developed, implemented, and provide palliative care to patients and their families.

Learn more and nominate