Individual Award Category

Purpose and objective

This award recognizes individuals who have dedicated themselves to the development and provision of palliative care, increasing the quality of life of patients with serious health related suffering both in their countries and abroad.

The goal of the IAHPC Recognition Awards Program is to increase access and optimize the practice of palliative care in the world.

The objectives of this Program are to:

  1. recognize individuals and institutions dedicated to alleviating serious health related suffering of patients and their families in order to improve their quality of life, and
  2. bring these individuals and institutions to the attention of policy makers, other institutions, and relevant organizations.


Awards will consist of a US $1,000 prize for the winner located in each income level, a certificate, and a free one-year IAHPC membership.

The income level categories per the World Bank, are high, middle, and low. To find your country’s income category, visit the World Bank income website.

IAHPC will convene a selection committee to evaluate the applications and select the best nominations. The winner will be selected based on the information provided in the application. The committee will be evaluating the extent to which care the nominee has worked to advance palliative care provision, education, research, and service provision in his/her community and country.

Nomination Criteria

Exclusion Criteria

Rules to apply

Download the sample of the nomination form. When you have the information ready, complete the online form.

Nominate an individual