Membership Matters

Volume 23, Number 5: May 2022

Members’ Impact

Congratulations to Julia Downing, Executive Director of ICPCN and a past IAHPC board member, who has been shortlisted for the Aster Guardians Global Nursing Award. Just 10 of more than 24,000 nurses were nominated for the award. Join the IAHPC team and vote for Ms. Downing to acknowledge her contribution to palliative care.

IAHPC Board Member Nahla Gafer and Zipporah Ali were speakers at the ICPCN Children’s Palliative Care Webinar Series. Dr. Gafer’s topic was “End of life care,” while Dr. Ali spoke on “Supporting the family at the time of death.” Listen to the recording.

Carlos Centeno coauthored “Region-Specific Macroindicators on Palliative Care Development in the Eastern Mediterranean Region: A Delphi study,” in press by the Eastern Mediterranean Health Journal and which can be read on the World Health Organization website. The article discusses the process a group of newly formed palliative care experts from the region used to identify relevant and feasible macroindicators, as well as their findings.

Gulnara Kunirova, Nahla Gafer, and Layth Mula-Hussain were three of 58 coauthors of “Evaluating Pain Management Practices for Cancer Patients among Health Professionals: A Global Survey,” a study published in the Journal of Palliative Medicine. The report discusses how to improve cancer pain therapy and what role knowledge, beliefs and other barriers play.

Members in This Month’s Newsletter

The IAHPC leadership would like to thank the many members who participated in stories and columns in this month’s newsletter.

Policy & Advocacy
Feature Story
Meet a Longtime Member

Links to IAHPC programs mentioned above: Global Consensus-Based Palliative Care Definition, Opioid Price Watch, and the COVID-19 Briefing Notes.

List of Members

A list of individuals who joined, or renewed their membership with, IAHPC during the past month.

Membership renewals
Name Country
Anam Cara House Colac Inc Australia
Tania Pastrana Germany
Kanimozhi Rajalingam India
Pallium India India
Veenavani Nallepalli India
Fred Chiputala Malawi
Lidia Justino Mondlane Mozambique
Zodwa Gamedze Swaziland
Jacquline Pereira Sabga Trinidad and Tobago
Lisa Christine Irumba Uganda
Mhoira E F Leng Uganda
Cheryl Marks United States
Maria Mercedes Bernada Uruguay
Eunice Garanganga Zimbabwe
New members
Name Country
ADWOA BEMAH Boamah Mensah Ghana
Glenda Winga Malawi
Ida Lajabu Malawi
Phyela S.K.J. Mbeya Malawi
Luiz Felipe Nogueira Portugal
Abdourahmane Diallo Senegal
Doiuchi-Duran Maki United States
Jamie Eaddy Chism United States

See the full list of IAHPC members

Do you have any questions regarding membership issues?

Contact Ms. Genevieve Napier

Previous page Table of contents Next page