IAHPC Membership Matters

2018; Volume 19, No 2, February

IAHPC Membership Matters

Announcements and items of special interest involving the IAHPC.

2 good reasons to visit the IAHPC booth

The IAHPC will have a booth at two upcoming events: the 25th Annual India Association of Palliative Care Conference (IAPCON) in Delhi, India on 23-25 February, 2018; and the International Federation on Ageing’s 14th Global Conference on Ageing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada on 8-10 August 2018.

If you are planning on attending either meeting, stop by and see us! We would like very much to meet you, and personally thank you for supporting the IAHPC’s mission to advance hospice and palliative care in the world. As a bonus, individuals and institutions that join or renew their membership during the events will receive a discount on the regular membership fee.

Lifetime Members Award to be revealed in March

The IAHPC Lifetime Members Award is a $US2,000 Traveling Scholarship given to a Lifetime member chosen at random. The money funds registration and travel costs for a palliative care conference, training, or other educational purpose. Applicants will need to secure funding from other sources to cover additional expenses.

The winner is determined by a computerized random draw in February, and will be announced in the March newsletter. It’s not too late to become part of the pool from which a winner will be drawn! Find out how to sign up as a Lifetime member here.

If you have any questions, contact Genevieve Napier, IAHPC Manager of Programs and Projects.

Huge response to call for IAHPC/WHO

Web-based policy brief course

The first IAHPC/WHO course on how to write an evidence-based policy brief on palliative care for older persons is now well underway. We had a tremendous response to our 2017 call, with more than 120 applicants for 24 spots. It was very challenging to select final participants from such a qualified and talented pool, so we decided to run another course in April. Depending on the results and feedback we receive later in the spring, it is likely that we will offer other policy brief courses on timely topics.

This course is built around the guiding questions for the 9th Open Ended Working Group on Ageing, which will take place in July at the United Nations (see Katherine Pettus’s Advocacy Report in this issue). Participants are from Bangladesh, Brazil, Cameroon, Chile, the Dominican Republic, India, Iraq, Mauritania, Myanmar, Nepal, Nigeria, Philippines, Sudan, Thailand, Uganda, and Ukraine. They will produce policy briefs and organize policy dialogues in their countries to inform the public and policymakers about how to improve palliative care for older persons in their countries.

We expect to showcase the policy briefs in later IAHPC newsletters, and at a side event in New York this July at the 9th Open Ended Working Group on Ageing.

New and Renewing Members' List

Read the list of individuals who joined/renewed their membership with IAHPC during the past month.

Membership renewals
Name Country
Maria Ciruzzi Argentina
Liz Callaghan Palliative Care Australia Australia
Odette Waanders Australia
Deiann Elizabeth Sobers Barbados
John Scott Canada
Kevin Bezanson Canada
Alfredo Rodriguez Chile
Pedro Emilio Perez-cruz Chile
Martha Raquel Merino Ecuador
Jose Mario Lopez Saca El Salvador
Sylvie Bocquet France
H M Iqbal Bahar India
Asaph Kinyanjui Kenya
Brigid Sirengo Kenya
Dorcas Kabugo Kenya
Jessie Githanga Kenya
John Weru Kenya
Mercy Wachiuri Kenya
Richard Bauer Kenya
Zipporah Ali Kenya Hospices And Palliative Care Association Kenya
Lee Ai Chong Malaysia
Willem Scholten Netherlands
Fernando G Chamath Sri Lanka
Gunanathan Pratheepan Sri Lanka
Tharin Phenwan Thailand
Ankunda Collins Uganda
Apollo Orishaba Uganda
Charlotte Komunda Uganda
Damaseni Hagumakubaho Uganda
Elizabeth Nabirye Uganda
Harriet Kebirungi Uganda
Isanga Moses Uganda
Jane Mwesige Uganda
Lisa Christine Irumba Uganda
Margaret Sekyondwa Sekatawa Uganda
Mwazi Batuli Uganda
Octivia Evelyn Nazziwa Uganda
Rose Ngamita Uganda
Roselight Katusabe Uganda
Rosemary Namwanga Uganda
Yayeri Biira Uganda
Tetyana Vilchynska Ukraine
Cindy Stafford USA
Mary Lynn Mcpherson USA
Paul Walker USA
Valencia Clay USA
Chenjerai Bhodhen Zimbabwe
New members
Name Country
Marcela Holgado Argentina
Maria Ines Von Potieruchin Argentina
Maria Laura Rodriguez Argentina
Martín I. Mindeguía Argentina
Natalia Ceschini Argentina
Sandra Chacon Argentina
Narine Safaryan Armenia
Leandro Torres Brazil
Maiara Santos Brazil
Bulgarian Long Term and Palliative Care Society Bulgaria
Bethania Martinez Dominican Republic
Siun Sote Palliative Care Center Finland
Amruta Talawadekar India
Rahul D. Arora India
Maha Atout Jordan
Medson Boti Malawi
North Haven Hospice New Zealand
Jean Paul Balinda Rwanda
Sukhdev Kaur Singapore
Dominick Tibyampansha Tanzania
Hulya Kirca Turkey
Alex Latim Ojera Uganda
Anna Ayugi Uganda
Caxton Bahemurwaki Uganda
Collins Ankunda Uganda
Davis Muwanguzi Uganda
Diana Kyomuhendo Uganda
Fred Walugembe Uganda
Jane Okoth Amoris Uganda
Josphat Beinomugisha Byarugaba Uganda
Juliet Nanyeso Uganda
Kelet Kalemba Bogere Uganda
Marcellina Abbo Uganda
Priscilla Lebu Uganda
Racheal Asio Uganda
Ruth Mary Kemigisha Uganda
Ruth Nakayiwa Uganda
Sarah Nakyani Uganda
Taaka Esther Uganda
Vicky Opia Uganda
St Christopher's Hospice UK
Kseniia Shapoval-Deinega Ukraine
Viktoriia Tymoshevska Ukraine
Mariela Francia García Menéndez Uruguay
Chris Choi USA
Felicia Knaul USA
Marufjon Salokhiddinov Uzbekistan
Pham Thi Van Anh Vietnam
Monalisa Nhengu Matonda Zambia
Faniso Mudenda Zimbabwe

See the full list of IAHPC members

Previous Page | News Index | Next Page