Message from the Chair and Executive Director

2016; Volume 17, No 2, February

Message from the Chair and Executive Director

Dear readers,

Please join us in welcoming our new board members for the term 2016-2018! They are:

Congratulations also to Professor Julia Downing (Uganda) for her re-election. She will continue in her role for a second term alongside fellow board members: Prof. Sushma Bhatnagar (India), Prof. Rosa Buitrago (Panama), Ms. Mary Callaway (USA), Dr. Eric Krakauer (USA), Dr. Mhoira Leng (Uganda), Prof. Lukas Radbruch (Chair – Germany), Dr. Roberto Wenk (Argentina); Lifetime Members: Dr. Derek Doyle (UK), Dr. William Farr (USA) and Dr. Roger Woodruff (Australia), and Ms. Liliana De Lima (ex-officio – USA).

Look for their bios and pictures in our next edition!

This edition of the IAHPC Newsletter features an article by Lukas about a research agenda for palliative care in Germany, so we are keeping our message short. The article describes how the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and the Union of German Academies of Sciences and Humanities commissioned a report on palliative care in Germany, with the specific remit to develop a research agenda for this field. A multidisciplinary expert panel, which Lukas co-chaired with Prof. Hans-Peter Zenner, developed the report. The report includes very interesting findings and useful recommendations, which are applicable in many countries of the world.

December 31st marked the deadline for the applications for IAHPC Traveling Scholarships to the 8th Congress of the Latin American Association for Palliative Care (ALCP) in Mexico City. We received over 50 applications for 20 scholarships. The grantees have been selected and will be announced next month – many thanks to all those who participated for their enthusiasm. January 31st marked the deadline for the applications for the Traveling Scholarships to the 2d International Conference of the International Children’s Palliative Care Network in Buenos Aires. Grantees will be selected in mid-February and announced in March. Many thanks to all those who participated and thank you for your enthusiasm!

Until next month,

Lukas Radbruch, MD
Chair, Board of Directors

Liliana De Lima, MHA
Executive Director

News Index | Next Page